The Association for Tree-Ring Research is granting prizes for the best Ph.D. and Master theses that have made an original contribution to research in the area of dendrochronology.

To be eligible for the award, a thesis must:

  • have been written in English language, and
  • have been examined in the previous calendar year.

Nominations should be sent to the ATR board by the Ph.D. supervisor, and should include:

The award is donated with 1000 Euros, and handed out during the annual TRACE conference.

The selection of the best thesis will be made by a selection committee. The decision of this committee is final and no correspondence will be entered into.

Calls  for submissions will be announced through member mailings and via this website.

Former awardees are listed below.

Ph.D. thesis award

2011 Bettina Wagner
2010 Britta Eilmann
2009 -not appointed-
2008 Niels Bleicher
2007 Matthias Schaub
2006 David Frank


Master thesis award

2011 Cathrin Meinardus
2010 Karina Hennig
 #  #
 #  #
 #  #
 #  #